Junior School

WELCOME TO TERM 4, 2017

It is hard to believe how quickly this year has flown by! Term 4 is a busy time of year, with plenty of consolidating and new learning taking place. The 1/2 Team is excited to learn about “Community” in our Inquiry unit. Students will investigate the question “What is a community and how is a community connected?” through an incursion, dress up day and exploration, discovering different responsibilities and roles within a community.

 

 

IMPORTANT REMINDERS

 

SUN SMART SCHOOL

A reminder that Killara is a Sun Smart School which means all students are required to wear a wide-brimmed hat during Term 4. If they do not have a sun smart hat, they will be asked to spend their outdoor play times under the shaded area near the Prep playground.

 

NAMING ITEMS OF CLOTHING

 

With the weather warming up over the next few months, jumpers will be taken off more often during play times. Please ensure your child’s clothing is clearly labelled, particularly their jumper, jacket and hat. This is particularly important during swimming week; please name ALL items of clothing for this event.


 

COMPASS REPORTS

 

It is pleasing to see so many parents viewing their child’s progress via the Compass App. A friendly reminder that each unit covered by the 1/2 team is reported on in a timely manner to keep you updated on your child’s learning, their strengths and areas for improvement.

 

Semester 2 Reports will also be available later this term. This will provide you with a summary of your child’s progress during the semester. If you wish to discuss particular aspects of your child’s semester report, a parent teacher interview can be scheduled by request later this term.

 

 

Upcoming Events and Important Dates


October 18th

Maths Family Night

 

October 26th

1/2 Community Expo

 

November 6th

Pupil Free Day


November 7th

Melbourne Cup Day Public Holiday


November 17th

PFA Trivia Night


November 24th

1/2 Community Dress Up Day


December 4th-8th

1/2 Swimming


December 14th

School Disco


December 22nd

Last Day of Term 4

 

 

 

Staff Email Addresses

A reminder that 1/2 Team members can be contacted at the below email addresses: 

 

Deb Shepherd—Room 17 (A)

shepherd.deborah.e@edumail.vic.gov.au  

 

Kellie Sanderson—Room 18 (B)
sanderson.kellie.a@edumail.vic.gov.au 

 

Melissa Cowling - Room 19 (C)

cowling.melissa.m@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Maddy Psarianos—Room 20 (D)
psarianos.madelaine.m@edumail.vic.gov.au 

 

Jade Batey - Room 23 (E)
batey.jade.l@edumail.vic.gov.au  

 

Emma Rayner - Room 24 (F)

rayner.emma.l@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Sarah Round—Room 25 (G)
round.sarah.l@edumail.vic.gov.au  

 

Cynthia Marchment—Room 25 (G)
marchment.cynthia.a@edumail.vic.gov.au

 

Carol Ellis – Learning Support
ellis.carol.c@edumail.vic.gov.au